Getting Creative with Positive Reinforcement

Standard
Weepul

'WEEPULS' TO PROMOTE GOOD CHOICES

So I’m at work and we (my co-workers and I) are doing a little clean up and I found these furry little critters; which I call WEEPULS. I was so excited because they brought back memories of earning weepuls through magazine drives from my elementary school days. I loved to display them, trade them, and collect as many as I could. In remembering my excitement I figured my kids (the kids I work with) would also love them.

I decided those on the “happy face” board during Power Time would be the first to receive them.

I suppose I should explain that last sentence. Power Time is the hour that the kids spend working on homework. They are provided a quiet room helps them concentrate, as well as multiple staff and volunteers to help with questions and confusions regarding homework. On the white board at the front of the room, there is a happy face and a sad face, indicating the “happy face” board and the “sad face” board. If a child is sitting quietly, focusing, and working hard their name goes on the “happy face” board, if a child is wondering, talking, or being repeatedly disruptive then they will be asked to put their name on the “sad face” board. Ok, now that we understand that, lets move on to the implementation of weepuls.

At the end of Power Time the kids gather on the rug to be dismissed for enrichment; so before this, I called up those who had earned their name on the “happy face” board and presented them with a weepul. The weepul thanks them for their good behavior and is stuck to their shoulder (They come with a sticker bottom).

The idea behind the weepul on the shoulder is not only to show their peers that they were making good choices, but to also remind the child to continue to make good choices.

The kids LOVE these. Not only do they love the recognition of behaving well, but they love that it is cute, fuzzy, and theirs to take home. Having weepuls hanging out on the kid’s shoulders all day long has encouraged all kids to improve their behavior and their choices; mainly because they all want a fuzzy friend to display and take home.

With my kids, I highly express that these are earned through good behavior and good choices. Weepuls are not given out for winning a game or being the first one to complete a task or an assignment. They are not only given out for those who do well during Power Time, but at all times throughout the day for participation, good sportsmanship, kindness, listening, following instructions, and setting a good example; all of which I identify as good choices.

Just a creative way I found to encourage my kids to be as amazing as I know they are.

Weepuls can be simply made, but they are also sold  for fairly cheap at sites such as Oriental Trading and S&S (search under “pom pom critters”), both of which can be googled. Below is a close up so you can get a better idea of what these ‘weepuls’ look like.

CLOSE UP

Thanks for reading!

-The Creative Kitten

“My mistakes make me beautiful”

About BeaCreativeKitten

I. AM. AWESOME. AND IMPATIENT. AND IN LOVE. AND OBSESSED WITH ANIMALS. AND OVERLY OBSESSED WITH CATS. AND EASILY IRRITATED. AND A COUNTRY GIRL. AND AN EBAY WHORE. AND CRAFTY. AND EXCITED BY ORGANIZATION. AND A SHOPPER. AND SOMEONE WHO LOVES TO LAUGH. AND MADE BEAUTIFUL BY MY MISTAKES. AND EXCITED TO START SHARING MY CRAZY CREATIVE MIND.

Leave a Reply

